Twos and Transfers
Chapter 7: Opposition INT

Do you play Landy or Hamilton over an opponent’s INT opening bid? If you do, and don’t want to do
anything else, don’t bother reading the next two or three chapters. Hamilton or Landy are adequate
enough. But if you want to try my Evil bids in conjunction with your own 1NT opening as well, read
on.

Bidding over an opposing 1NT can often produce great results if you have an appreciation of scoring
and tactics. It is seldom that you will gain many match points by sitting back and defending INT in a
match point session, unless every pair is playing in INT and your defence is better than others, or your
opposition’s declarer play is worse. In most situations where the points are fairly evenly shared
between you and opponents, competing will bring you the good results if you a) have a basic grip of
mathematics and bridge scoring; b) have the best system to bid your hand in conjunction with
partner’s, and c) have an appreciation of the value of finding the right trump fit to play in.

There is more to it of course but knowing that passing out a weak 1NT should be the last resort is the
first step. The second step is to compete, when feasible, at the two level in such a way that you find
your best TRUMP fit. Your, or your partner’s, declarer play will also need to be of the highest quality.
Sometimes, you may need to find your best defence as well, if opponents are competing.

Competing against INT by being able to show only ONE suit is a totally inefficient and ineffective
exercise. Even in the old days, 50 plus years ago, the more savvy players realised this, and devised
systems for bidding over a INT opening. Systems like basic Landy (2C for the majors) were most
popular but they all required the overcaller to have at least 5-4 in two suits. If you have read, or will be
reading, about my opening “Evil Twos” you will see that even 4-4 is sufficient in most circumstances,
especially if that shape includes the HEART suit. Back in the old days there was a system by the name
of ASTRO for overcalling INT, and then improved to “Pin Point Astro”, which comes about as close as
possible to my “Evil Twos” opening bids and overcalls over INT. Google it for interest it you want to.

Without going into too much detail, I will suggest the following system over an opposing 1NT:

2C Clubs and hearts

2D Diamonds and hearts

2H Hearts and Spades

2S Spades and a minor (must have at least FIVE spades)
2NT Both minors (should be at least 5-4)

This system over INT manages to cover the biggest gap in most other systems, the FOUR card heart
suit! The four card heart suit is in fact the most neglected as well as, in my opinion, most biddable of
all the suits over 1NT, which is why it is such a benefit to be able to include it in any two suited
combination when deciding to enter the bidding over an opponent’s INT.



Few people bother to work out that minus two not vulnerable is better than opponents making 2H, 2S,
or 3C or 3D, and INT often makes two for 120. Even two down, if not doubled, will often score well.
So, even a hand like

A 84

v AQ72
¢ 942
% K643

is worth bidding 2C if you are not vulnerable and opponents are. This is of course simplifying things
and other factors will come into the equation, especially penalty doubles, but with two suited overcalls,
penalty doubles are not that easy or obvious to find when your opponents weren’t going anywhere over
their INT opening.

Now let’s just get to grips with the basic system of “Evil” overcalls. Whether you choose to graduate to
the ”Evil Two” opening twos as well, that is another option that we will explore at a much later time. In
the meantime, I strongly recommend the “Evil” overcalls over 1NT.

What we do need to take a look at while we are looking at the “Evil” overcalls, is the matter of escape
when your weak 1NT is doubled. Most people, when doubled in 1NT, do not play Stayman and
Transfers, and a bid at the two level is a takeout to that suit. That makes sense, but it also makes sense
to have some more flexibility. You can add in the same system as you use for overcalls, if you have
two suits to escape to, and usually you do. Thus, 2C will have clubs and hearts, 2D diamonds and
hearts, and 2H hearts and spades. Being able to escape to two suits of course means that you can’t
escape to ONE, so something has to be done to make that possible. The REDOUBLE can serve that
purpose, all that means is that it is no longer possible to redouble for penalties when you clearly have
the balance of power. But making doubled overtricks, if opponents pass, should score well enough
anyway so the redouble to show a good hand is pretty much redundant.

The good thing about this system is that both the opener and responder can make these takeout bids
when doubled, and opponents have no certain way of knowing how good your fit may be, and
whether they should double and try and collect a penalty, or bid something themselves.

Let’s take a look at some fairly average hands that you might have when there is a INT opening bid by
an opponent:

a A73

v K987
¢ K8542
w2

If the bidding has been INT on your left, pass, pass, it is probably right for you to bid 2D irrespective
of vulnerability. If your right hand opponent is first to bid and opens 1NT, not vulnerable it is still
worth coming in with 2D. Vulnerable, I would be wary but may still risk it at match points.



Let’s take a look at another hand:

A AQ73
v KQ98
* KQ85
%2

This one will present you with an interesting problem. You could double, which would be in effect a
penalty double; you could overcall 2D, or you could overcall 2H, which is probably the best option
given that there is a likelihood that there is at least a 4-3 fit in either major and it will score better than
2D even if there is a diamond fit and no 4-4 major suit fit.

And another that may present you with a different sort of problem:
A A74

v QJ872

+ K82

% AS

Most people would bid 2H with this hand, but your system does not cater for that. One option is to
double and hope that your 14 count works as well as a 15 count, you haven’t overbid by much, have
you? We do tend to double with similar hands and only 13 or 14 high card points, and make some
allowances for that possibility. This hand is not ideal for that because a heart lead may turn to custard. I
would certainly double if my hearts were QJ1087.

But oddly enough, passing with such a hand when there is a INT opening on your right won’t work out
that badly as a rule, especially if opponents are vulnerable and go one or two down, and 2H will often
fail when INT also fails. Not every hand is suited to every system, and judgement is often required.

With difficult hands it is usually best to take the pessimistic view, so passing a INT opening with this
particular hand is probably the way you should go. Not being able to overcall with 5332 hands will
instil discipline when it is needed.

Next, we will take a look at when an opponent doubles your opening of 1NT.



Partner has opened INT and the next hand has doubled.
.A 8432

v 8764

¢ K43

* Q9

Would you pass, or bid 2H to escape to a major? This one is difficult because you do have SOME
points and your hearts and spades are about as bad as they could be. What you need to realise is that a)
left hand opponent may now bid and b) PARTNER, who has opened 1NT can also bid if he wants to, or
can do so. Here is what the opener actually held when this deal occurred some time ago:

A K9
v AQ92

¢ 972
& K543

When I passed the double as did by my left hand opponent, my partner now bid 2C. This was the usual
“Evil” bid, with clubs and hearts. I was able to bid 2H and we still found our heart fit, so either of us
could have engineered the escape to 2H. And as it happened, we made 2H when the defence was not
perfect, with most other pairs down in INT or opponents making 2NT or 2S their way!

And finally, another extreme case where inferences needed to be taken for the best result:
I held this terrible assortment, but at least we were not vulnerable and opponents were:

A 97
v?2

¢ Q8742

% QJ753

Partner opened INT! Right hand opponent doubled. I considered redoubling and calling it a single suit
takout, but which suit? And there was rhe chance that opponents would bid, so I passed. My left hand
opponent also passed, but partner now emerged with REDOUBLE! Right hand opponent now bid 2S
and when LHO bid 4S, when it was passed to me, [ bid 4NT! My partner’s redouble had shown a single
suit takeout and because it had to be a MINOR suit (we do NOT open INT with a five card major) I
knew we had a 5-5 fit in one of the minors and the sacrifice would be almost certainly a profitable one.
Partner bid 5D and this was his hand:

A Q5
v J93

¢ AJ953
% AG2
I need not tell you the rest, do I?
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